End of year fleet update

Thanks to a combination of new job and a house move I’ve got a bit behind on the blogging over the last couple of months but it’s now time to get back into it and try and make the updates a bit more regular during 2013. Since this blog is supposed to be about hot hatches I thought I’d do an end of year fleet update about my little duo. Both cars have been written about on PetrolBlog this year but this article will give a few highs and lows about the Fabia and the 106 from the last few months.

1994 Peugeot 106 Rallye

IMG_1031

Since buying the little Pug back in April I’ve probably spent as much on it as the purchase price of the car itself but fortunately it was a bit of a bargain to buy! As cars go it is a long way from being perfect with dents and scrapes on various panels, a nasty crunch into 2nd gear and dodgy slider on the drivers seat. However, once you get in and drive the thing you can forgive it’s faults, putting your foot down from 30mph in 2nd gear and watching it scream round to its 7k rpm red line just never gets old! Once you’re on the move the car is surprisingly torquey and happily cruises with modern traffic, the steering is light and precise and it’s only really the performance of the brakes that let it down.

I’ve had some great drives in the 106 over the last few months including a couple of runs across the A4069 in the Brecon Beacons, although the last drive a few days ago resulted in the exhaust falling off and the car is now confined to the garage until I can sort a new one. It’ll also be MOT time in a couple of months which is a bit scary as there a couple of things which I suspect could cause a problem. Although, all in all, I have enjoyed owning the Pug and would certainly recommend one as long as you know what you are letting yourself in for which is ultimately a noisy, rattly, flimsy little hatch back!

I don’t tend to keep a precise record of what I’ve spent on my cars but some of the headline costs for the Pug since I bought it are as follows:

  • New coil pack & crank sensor – £120 
  • 4 x Vredestein Hi-Trac tyres & new wheel bolts – £250
  • Paint and assorted kit to ‘refurbish’ the steel wheels – £100+
  • Parcel shelf – £10
  • Service inc. cambelt, engine mount, and a couple of other parts – £300
  • Various other small parts and consumables – £100

Once all the costs are put together it does look a bit scary but before I bought the car it hadn’t run for 4 years so I was anticipating some recommissioning costs and factored this into my purchase price.  The failed coil pack & crank sensor was the only time the car had failed to start and the tyres weren’t strictly necessary as it had acceptable tyres on a set of 205 GTI alloys when I bought it but I wanted to get it back on the steels!

 

2005 Fabia VRS

DSC_0262

The Fabia has now been my daily driver for almost 3 years and despite a few issues in late 2012 I really have no idea what I would replace it with if I had to change it! The above picture was taken on my first track day with it at Blyton Park in October where it performed very well, especially for a car which isn’t the last word in handling and outright performance.

In addition to completing its first track day the Fabia now gets asked to do a 70 mile daily commute on some pretty poor Welsh roads and while it hasn’t let me down it hasn’t been feeling at its best recently and has needed a fair bit of money spending on it! Some of the work has been routine whilst other issues have proved difficult to resolve, it developed an odd vibration a few weeks ago that initially felt like it was coming through the chassis and the garage suspected that it may be the DMF.  However the vibration is now more pronounced through the brakes and steering so I’m hoping it just needs new front discs and this will be looked into in the new year.  During 2012 I’ll have notched up getting on for 20k miles in the Fabia and despite a few large bills this year I have to say it still copes very well for a car coming up to 8 years old with nearly 100k miles on the clock.  I’m hopeful that the few issues it’s had recently will be ironed out early in 2013 and it’ll be back on form ready for a lot of miles and hopefully some more track days.

A few of the major costs for the Fabia in 2012 are here:

  • Major service – £180
  • Minor service – £80
  • 4 x Uniroyal Rainsport 2s – £300
  • Rear discs & pads – £190
  • Investigative work, tracking, alignment etc – £150

Both cars have had their ups and downs this year but I’m still very fond of the pair of them.  The 106 is probably most at risk of sale simply because of the additional cost of running 2 cars but I’ll see what 2013 brings before making a decision. If anyone is considering purchasing a 106 or a Fabia I’m always happy to give honest ownership experiences ..feel free to comment on here or find me on Twitter @willp1987.

Thank’s to everyone who has read this blog in 2012 and I hope to get it updated a bit more regularly next year!

IMG_1011

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

